Viva Las Vegas

December 12, 2009 at 5:33 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment
Tags: , , , , , , ,

What a great experience I had in Vegas. Wasn’t quite sure how the race would turn out since I didn’t sleep very well for most of the week and had all but stopped training for the two weeks prior due to some pesky foot injuries. Those foot injuries….

At any rate I did pretty well; finished the half-marathon strong in about 2:08. Officially the time was 2:19 but I’m deducting 11 minutes for the time spent in line for the restroom at the 8-mile mark. I tried to make it without stopping but it just wasn’t meant to be, though I did run in place and practice high-knees while waiting.

2:08 and I’m sticking to it!

The race was really fun, the atmosphere was awesome, though the weather conditions could have been better. I started out of coral 16, which meant 55 minutes of waiting before we actually took off running. 120 minutes altogether, in the freezing desert cold (36 degrees), wearing shorts and 2 t-shirts… waiting as my muscles and eyeballs froze, hoping this year would be the one they found a cure thanks entirely to the frigid conditions I had to wait around in.

We were slowly ushered to the starting line just as the sun was peaking out of the desert terrain between the mountains and the airport. We looked at each other with cold and angst in our eyes (the waffles-to-come, with extra blueberries and whipped cream keeping my thoughts warm) and suddenly with a loud burst and crackle in the morning sky, fireworks exploded as a Blues Brothers Tribute band started playing high above us on a raised platform. “You Make me Want to Shout!” they sang, and we threw our hands up and shouted…. and threw our hands up and shouted… and threw our hands up…. ok I’ll stop. It was the perfect way to get everyone jazzed up and ready to run.

All was great, starting a run with a massive dance party is an indescribable experience. A former coworker of mine used to say on a boring Monday that he would give anything for the streets to suddenly erupt into dancing… well Parsa, they did. And it was awesome.

Not too many other highlights to recall after that, it was really a lot of killing time after that point. I was stoked to find out there was a Santa 5K the previous morning with free Santa costumes provided, and a little bummed that I missed it. It also would have been awesome if I picked up an Elvis costume and joined the Tour de Graceland runners.

The finish line was my favorite, not least of which because it was finally over. There is something to be said though about the feeling you get from an artificial sugar goo high at the 12-mile mark when you’re just about to collapse into a pile of concrete with two lead pipes that used to be legs. Suddenly I found myself sprinting, for almost a mile straight into the finish line while the crowd cheered me on. It was amazing.

At the finish line was my mom and two of my brothers, Michael and Brian. I was so happy to see them there in support of everything I had worked so hard for over the last 3 months. Thank you guys, it meant the world to me.

So to keep to my promise to Jason Leitman, and all the great people at CDSN and the CCFA, and all those others I met along the way, I will continue to maintain the blog to some extent so as to never abandon the most important part of all of this. The cause. It makes me feel good to know that I raised $3700.00 to help children suffering from IBD. My team, the New York Chapter of Team Challenge raised the most money of any team in the country, over $200,000!

My website will stay up, with stories and anecdotes about life with Crohn’s Disease and IBD, and I will continue to do my best to maintain this blog as a source of information and a connection point for those with IBD and those who can help them get through the pain and anxiety of having it.

I have a few ideas in mind that will hopefully pan out, but it’s still early and I don’t want to spill them just yet for fear of looking like a lazy slacker if they don’t actually come to fruition. I work full-time, can’t always be running marathons! I know you’ll understand.

Merry Christmas to you all, and thank you so much for your support!

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Very inspiring.
    Keep at it! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

